Corath’s Blog? Say what?

This doesn’t really have anything to do with Warcraft itself, but with my blog.  For a while I’ve been wondering what I can do to improve it, and one thing that I’ve thought about for a while is branding.

If you do a search, and “Corath’s Blog” comes up, it’s not that captivating.  Nothing in it brings a person in to the website, and it doesn’t even reference anything in Warcraft at all.  It’s the name I’ve been using for years, and that’s about it.

A while back I had my sister-in-law, who was a journalist for a major Canadian newspaper, look through my blog and give me ideas.  Even though she has no experience with WoW or anything of the like, she said that things looked good – but she pointed out the title with exactly what I was talking about above.  I put the thoughts on the back-burner for a while, but now I’m wanting to proceed with it.

Since the address of the blog is out there, I don’t want to change that.  However, I’m not great about choosing titles or names.  I’d like it to refernce Warcraft in some way, since that’s obviously what I focus on.  Originally I was thinking about doing a variety of things, but that’s fallen by the wayside.

So, this is where I need the help of anyone who reads.  Please help me come up with any ideas for a new title!  Jamin from Shattered Beginnings has given me one, which will definitely be in the hat.  Please comment with any suggestions – all are welcome!  Thanks!

10 thoughts on “Corath’s Blog? Say what?

  1. Oh gosh, I’m absolutely horrible with names – and I find it to be something very personal. I’m already settled on mine, but if I was to ever do it again, I’d want a funny play on a movie title but with a WoW theme.. and every post would be the name of a movie (possibly changed to a wow theme as well at times). But that’s me and I’m a movie buff on the side 😛

  2. Corath in Warcraft!

    Ok, I am terrible at rhyming. Also naming. Although you can do basically anything with the title (provided you mention “Corath” somewhere in keeping with the address), I think you can definitely use your second line to get the general idea across like you are doing now.

    Good luck with the naming!

  3. I tend to name my blogs something puny (‘Perish Twice’ or ‘View from the Molehill’) or something obvious (‘Martha.net’ or ‘Custom-Models.com’) or just something that sounds nifty that doesn’t have a million hits on Google (‘Everyday Dragons’ or ‘Unquiet Bones’).

    I don’t think the name necessarily has to have Corath in it, even if that’s the URL of the blog. Most people seem to find blog posts by follow links or feeds, so the number of visitors who actually type in your address will be small. (Plus it’s the post titles that will catch most of the attention…)

    The easiest way might be to brainstorm a bit, sit down and write out all the words you can think of that describe your blog. Don’t filter, just braindump for a few minutes and see what you come up with. Then look those words over and see which ones might catch the interest of your audience.

    And if all else fails, imitation is the sincerest form of flattery– check out the warcraft blogs that you like reading and see how they’ve done their titles (and subtitles)! 🙂

  4. Most of my traffic comes from google images or phrases. I was shocked at how many people typed “What does Westfall Mud Pie do?” and they were given an image of my recipe for Westfall Mud Pie.

    Content is King! Is so so so so true. It doesn’t matter what your name is, or if it is relevant to Warcraft or not. If it is a good quality read people will find it. Statically speaking it takes most bloggers 1-3 years of consistent blogging to get a steady stream of visitors. If you want more readers you really have to put yourself out there. WoW players aren’t reading your blog not because it isn’t exciting…no no no, they aren’t reading it because they don’t know about it.

    Be shameless and post links everywhere your readers go. “Corath’s Blog is a fine name. It’s short and easy to remember thus easy to pass on.

    Have faith and keep posting.

  5. I would humbly submit a title changeup if that is still something you are looking into. Perhaps, “Canada’s Cenarion Corath Circle.” Not as a nationality limiting factor, but another niche to carve out as a trade mark. Think in terms of 5 words of less what does your blog mean to you. I just recently got turned on to your blog via BA’s BoTW from Edenvale, so that is another great way of exposure.

    No matter the title, remain true to what you enjoy about your blog. The essence and character will directly reflect what you pour into it.

    Keep up the great work, looking forward to more posts to come, and really like the screen shots so far.

    P.S. I am thinking I need to get a WordPress ID so that with all the posting and tracking I am not just another guest.

  6. I really want to thank you all for your comments. The jury’s still out as to what I’m deciding, but I think something simple like “Corath’s Warcraft Blog” might help things out a bit. I’ll be changing a few minor things around, but nothing too big.

    Again, thank you for the great suggestions!

Leave a Reply

