Life Getting in the Way

It can be quite frustrating at times.  I have everything planned out for a great night of gaming, and then something happens that I know will mess my plans up – life.  The great equalizer, it can happen to anyone: hardcore or casual, PvP or PvE, Horde or Alliance.  No matter what you do, Murphy’s Law will rear its ugly head at you.

Currently, our guild raids once a week on Fridays since most people can make it then.  Unfortunately in my time zone, it starts at 7, and I work until either 6 or 6:30.  Along with that, I have a wife and child that I want to pay attention to (since I don’t really feel like being a BAD DAD), so I made a deal with my wife that on nights that I work late I wouldn’t raid.  It just so happens that I really enjoy raiding.  This new schedule at work is a new thing for me, so I’ll have to see what it’s like in the long term before I decide to start working out a raiding schedule at home.

That brings me to the heart of this matter, is a good life/game balance.  We’ve all heard stories about people becoming WoW (or any other game, for that matter) addicts and completely shutting out their real life.  It gets even more sad when there are kids involved who suffer, or even die, because of it.  Games are a great way to escape life – I use that as an excuse all the time, but games are not meant to replace life.  We’ve all heard it before, but the truth is still the same whether it relates to gaming or not: if something is becoming more important than what’s happening in real life, it’s time to get rid of it.

People seem to focus on gaming quite often, likely because of how easy it can be to start with it and keep going.  Yet, an addict is an addict.  Obviously, someone addicted to something like heroin is in a much worse situation than someone addicted to WoW, but there can be times where the symptoms are the same.  Not wanting to go out because you have “something to do”, scheduling a date around your raid nights, not taking care of yourself, not eating well – basically keeping yourself away from everything and anyone else.

It doesn’t take a multi-year, multi-million dollar study to realize that it’s not healthy.  I am very fortunate to have a wife who is very good at kicking my butt if I start taking things too seriously or going back into the rut that I had been in earlier in my life.  I hope that everyone has a family member or friend who is around that can give you a smack in the back of the head when needed, and I hope that everyone can have fun and play responsibly.

2 thoughts on “Life Getting in the Way

  1. Me and my husband both play, but it seems that we always notice when we’ve played too much and we need to do some other things eg. the dishes or other housework. We have no kids (yet) so at least we don’t have to deal with that responsibility yet. When we do get them however, I think that our wow time will easily be cut in half by then 🙂

Leave a Reply

