Patch 3.3 stuff

I know this is a bit overdue, but I’d just like to say that I agree with everyone who says that patch 3.3 is the best patch ever.

EVER.

There were a number of improvements on all fronts, and I would also like to fall in line with everyone else who says that the new LFG tool is awesome.  It is.  Even more so after yesterday, when I changed my dual spec to be a tank again – instant queues are very nice.  So far the only thing I’ve observed is that people still don’t like The Oculus.  I personally haven’t seen it since the changes went live… I’ve only ever done the instance once to get my Champion of the Frozen Wastes achievement.  I’m actually looking forward to it, I’d love a Red Proto-Drake eventually.

Icecrown Citadel raid is great.  I never thought I’d say it, but I actually missed trash.  ToC was a good idea, and I liked how they split it up between 10- and 25-man normal and heroic, but it’s nice to be back to semi-normalness.  Being able to toggle which specific encounters you want on heroic mode in ICC is a great improvement.  That way, you don’t have to get locked out of a whole instance if you suck at certain heroic bosses.

Along that same thought, I’m glad that there’s a bit of challenge involved in the raid again.  ToC was a bit too much of a cakewalk (especially after the Faction Champions were nerfed: it was crazy fun before – difficult, but doable), and I know our guild suffered the first night because of it.  We got Lord Marrowgar down on the first try, and then spent the next two hours wiping to Lady Deathwhisper.  Fortunately, Band of Thorns has a great raiding group, so the following night they were able to down the rest of the available bosses.

Finally, probably the best part about the patch was that it brought back people who were away.  A good friend of mine had said he was done with the game because it was boring, but now with all the changes, it’s gotten a lot better.

Thank you, Blizzard, for putting out a great patch.  I’m really looking forward to raid nights again, doing heroics again, and other things like that.  The only thing I’m not looking forward to is doing more Argent Tournament dailies on my alts.

Leave a Reply

