World of Warcraft randomness

This is going to be kind of a buffet of random World of Warcraft things.

Firstly, my current state with WoW.  After The Spawn was born in July, my playtime was reduced greatly, as expected.  I went from raiding twice a week, with the occasional pick up raid or group at other times, to nothing at all.  No raids at all for around a month or so.  To put it bluntly, it sucked.  I never expected that I would consider myself a raider, but I turned into one.

After that first month or so of getting used to having a small little leech that is a constant attention grabber and needs you for everything, it got better.  My wife allowed me to raid once a week, which I’ve done for the most part for the past two-ish months now, with the expected times that things come up and I don’t.  All in all, it’s not too bad.  I’ve seen all of Ulduar (except downing Vezax, so I won’t get that achievement for a while) and all of ToC10 and 25, but nothing heroic.  I have one piece of T9, with a trophy in my inventory right now with enough badges to purchase a second one as soon as I decide which one to get.

All in all, I’d say I’m not doing too badly.  Obviously, I’d like to do more random groups and such, but oh well.  Hopefully I’ll be able to come 3.3.

Secondly, the current overall state of WoW.  Even though 3.3 is coming soon™-ish, I’m getting the vibe that people are really bored already.  Wrath has been out for just over a year now, and people are excited and waiting for Cataclysm – myself included.  Even though Icecrown is coming with the next patch (along with a bunch of other neat things), I’m wondering if it’ll be enough to keep people interested.  I hope so.

Thirdly, Cataclysm.  I’m really looking forward to it, mainly for the fact that I want to roll a Goblin Priest.  I don’t know why, it just looks like fun.  I’m very glad that Blizzard decided to completely revamp Azeroth, after showing off what they can do with Outland and Northrend for world design, the Old World lacks greatly in comparison.

The Warcraft novels that I’ve read were quite decent, and it laid some good groundwork for what’s going to happen with Deathwing.  He’s such a great character – and heck, he’s a dragon.  Dragons are awesome.  I wonder if Rhonin is going to make a cameo or take a main role in it… I already know that WoW.com will be in an uproar.  Personally, I don’t see the problem with him.  He’s like most main characters in books or films or anything, he’s the man, and he’ll save the day no matter what.

Lastly, the future of WoW.  Come Monday, November 23rd, WoW will have been released for five years.  I’ve been a subscriber all five of those years, and really can’t complain.  I’m curious to see what will eventually happen with it – will it continue up?  Will it branch out into WoW2, or something else like that?  Time will tell.

Star Trek Online comes out February 2nd.  I know there have been many games predicted to be “WoW-killers”, and I’m sure people will say the same about STO.  I don’t think it will, I think the only thing that will kill WoW will be whatever the “next-gen MMO” Blizzard is coming out with.  I bring up STO because I’m an avid Star Trek fan, and I’m really looking forward to trying it.

In the end, I’m a self-admitted Blizzard fanboy.  So far, whatever they’ve put out, I’ve bought and enjoyed tremendously, and I don’t expect that to change anytime soon.  World of Warcraft is an awesome game, and I look forward to seeing what will come next.

Leave a Reply

