Situation Not Optimal

This is part of a Blog Azeroth Shared Topic.

If anyone follows my Twitter feed, you’ll know that I’m not a very happy person right now.  In an ideal world, I would be happily frolicking through Hyjal or racing my Goblin through the Lost Isles, but unfortunately this is not the case.  For the first time in my history of World of Warcraft, I don’t have the game on the release date.

Each time the game has either come out or an expansion has been released, I had my copy in hand and was able to check it out immediately.  Unfortunately, I decided to change things up this time by ordering our copies online through the Gamestop website rather than an actual store.  I definitely won’t be doing that again.

WoW Insider Image

From WoW Insider

The reason why I tried it this time is because I had ordered StarCraft II through the Gamestop website and had no problems.  Actually, I was quite impressed: it was delivered just after lunch on the release date.  I figured with World of Warcraft being even bigger and more of a customer demand, they’ll make sure that they get it to me promptly.  Remember the old phrase about assuming?  Yeah, unfortunately true this time.

I’ve been checking the Purolator website often, and the last note on the tracking information is that it was sent out from Toronto on Monday the 6th at around 5:45 pm.  For shipping companies, I know that it doesn’t take more than two days to go across Canada.  Even if they have to drive, I’ve had friends who made it from Ottawa to Edmonton in two days.  I don’t see what the problem is in this case.

The only good thing about this is that I learned a valuable lesson.  I’ll never order anything through Gamestop again, and will go back to trusting the big box stores that I’ve used for so long.  If I wasn’t getting the Collector’s Edition, I’d just phone them up and cancel my order to do the online upgrade.

Hopefully it arrives soon.

Posted on December 8, 2010, in World of Warcraft and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Ouch. Sorry to hear about that.

  2. Damn, that sucks. I live in Edmonton as well and I just walked into the Future Shop on Calgary Trail and picked up my Collector’s Edition at around 11:30am on Tuesday. They had stacks of them. Nothing like not planning at all and getting lucky. :)

  3. Aww, that sucks, though it is more the shipping company’s fault than Gamestop’s. We had an issue with Amazon too. Didn’t get it until late lunch time on Wednesday. Not as late as some, but still.. annoying. Amazon were prompt, but City Link, the shipping company, weren’t.. I was about ready to throttle somebody! :p

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

