Pain… lots of pain

At times, I seem to enjoy pain.  This is usually the case when I pull up StarCraft II and dare to try multiplayer.

It actually took me a long time to try it in the first place – only yesterday.  I got the game on release day, finished the campaign a few days ago, and have been playing either co-op vs AI or single player vs AI.  The fact that I was getting owned against a medium AI had me very worried.

I decided to take the plunge with a friend, and did a few quick match games of 2v2.  We played four games, and we won one of them.  Altogether a better result than I had actually expected, since I was expecting utter failure for everything.  After doing some reading I’ve decided to play Protoss for the time being, and my friend was playing Zerg (he also hates himself).

The first game didn’t go too badly, we had held our own for a while until they decided to push us… and it ended up that they had a lot of forces to push with.  We managed to stay alive for a while, and didn’t make it easy for them, but altogether not bad.  Learned from that match that I need to make more of an army.

The second game was the one we actually ended up winning.  At first, it looked a bit grim since my teammate was getting pounded early on, but I was able to keep him afloat.  For whatever reason they didn’t try to attach or harass me very much, thankfully.  Near the end, my teammate had almost all of his army decimated, while I had a sizable one: about 20-30 units consisted of Zealots, Stalkers, Sentries, Colossi, and a few Immortals.  It ended up that it was sufficient to tear up the other people, since I was able to catch them off-guard after he attacked my teammate.  Learned from that match that I am awesome.

The third game sucked.  Since these were still placement matches, we were against some platinum players, and I definitely showed my complacency.  I’d also like to add in that as much as I know they are legitimate tactics, I hate cheese.  Our opponents were both Protoss, and we got cannon rushed.  Learned from that match that I need to pay attention to the smallest thing, and not let anything get by me without checking it out.

The last game was a bit crazy.  We lost, of course, but it was just the fact that our opponents were able to make such a massive army.  Both of them were Terran, they did the MMM tactic – Marines, Marauders, and Medivacs.  They were probably supply capped with the amount of troops that they had, and they easily overwhelmed us.  Learned from that match that I need to attack or harass earlier, and not to skimp on my army size.

Altogether, I learned some good strategies and tactics.  I don’t want to play Terran right now, since I still think that they’re a bit overpowered, but I’d also like to win every once in a while.  We’ll see how it goes, maybe one day I’ll turn down the suck and turn up the rock.

Posted on October 3, 2010, in StarCraft and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Let me know if you need a 2v2 or 3v3 partner. I’d be glad to come help.

  2. “The third game sucked. Since these were still placement matches, we were against some platinum players, and I definitely showed my complacency. I’d also like to add in that as much as I know they are legitimate tactics, I hate cheese. Our opponents were both Protoss, and we got cannon rushed. Learned from that match that I need to pay attention to the smallest thing, and not let anything get by me without checking it out.”

    Actually, cheeses are more prevalent in the lower leagues. In the top leagues none of these strategies will actually work since your enemy is just as skilled as you are and are fully aware of these tactics. You can only cheese someone who doesn’t see it coming or don’t know how to counter it.

    I think you’ll enjoy multiplayer a lot more once you get out of the placement matches and into your league. Blizzard has made an effort into making sure everyone can enjoy this game by putting systems in place that will put equally skilled players against eachother.

    Cheers,
    Gav

  1. Pingback: Uldum Roundup « Corath's Blog

  2. Pingback: BlizzCon, a Magical Time… « Corath's Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

