Another game, another heartbreak

My best friend called me up saying that she had some tickets to the Oilers game on Friday against Dallas.  I love going to hockey games, and I figured that it might be the one where we actually won.  So far this season we’ve won against them twice, a third time shouldn’t be a problem, right?

I wish.

The last time I saw the Oilers win a game in person was when we went to BlizzCon ’08, and saw them play the Ducks in Anaheim.  (This was an amazing experience, and one I’d love to do again.)  I honestly don’t remember the last time that I saw the Oilers win at home in person.

Fortunately, the game was at least entertaining.  Near the end of the first period, there were a bunch of penalties called against us – only one of which was actually legitimate.  I didn’t actually see it, but my wife tells me Gagner did a great headlock on someone and pulled him down.  It was about a five minute penalty kill, and a two man advantage for a good portion of it as well.  Amazingly enough, they didn’t score at that point in time.

We ended up tying the game with one minute left, and was sure we were heading to overtime.  But of course, Dallas scores with 22 seconds to go in the game.  I tell you, it was the biggest emotional rollercoaster I’ve ever been through at a hockey game.  One minute we have hope – the next we’re getting ready to leave, very disappointed.

Oh well, there’s always next game.  If not, maybe we’ll get top pick in the entry draft this year.  On the way out of the game, people were chanting “First round draft pick!”

Taylor Hall maybe?  I sure hope so.

Posted on January 24, 2010, in Sports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

